5 weeks

I have sat down to try to write an update so many times, but every time I open the computer with intention, baby girl cries and then my hands are full!

Harriet is 5 weeks now and doing great. The first week was rough. She lost too much weight in the hospital so we had to supplement her after every feeding with a dropper. We were feeding every 2-3 hours and a feeding took about an hour for the breast, burping and dropper so sleep was happening in 1-2 hour stretches. Feeding was so painful at first. I never thought I would bleed from my nipple…

The second week highlight was having my mom and dad come visit and Will went back to work. Mom took care of the baby and dad did some projects around the house. It was great. I just had to feed her and then hand off to grammie to do the rest.

Week 3 was my first time being completely alone with the baby all day. I was nervous at first that I would not be able to hack it and would be too tired to do anything, but luckily things went well. When you don’t have people over you really can get into a grove. I was able to stay awake most of the day, taking an afternoon nap with Harriet. We had several visitors that week stopping by to bring food or just to say hi.

Week 4 was me getting out and around more with the baby and figuring out to do things. I figured that going shopping was easiest wearing the baby as if I put the car seat in the cart, there was no room for food! We went to the mall and the chiropractor and tried to get the house in order.

During the past week we’ve been getting out for lots of walks and social visits. I try to get out of the house 4/5 week days to help the time pass and to not be too sedentary. We’re heading to my work tomorrow to introduce her to my co-workers.

I’ve been doing well too. The first 2 weeks I was pretty sore. Not gonna lie, childbirth is painful. But, you forget pretty quickly just what it felt like. I remember it was the most pain I’ve ever felt in my life, but can’t remember exactly how bad. Right afterwards I said “next time I’m getting pain meds”, but after just 1 week or so I was already back to thinking I’ll have the next one (God willing there is a next one!) naturally as well. I have no idea how much I’ve lost so far, but am still wearing stretch and maternity pants!! They are just so much more comfortable and the stretchy belly part of the pants prevents any muffin top action from regular jeans 🙂

Thats about all I can say for now as baby girl is starting to stir and when she wakes, she wakes fast and hard and if I’m not ready for it, I pay! I’ll attach some pictures quick before I wrap this up.

photo 5 photo 4 IMG_1233 IMG_1281

At some point I’ll post our birth story. Just need to get it finished first.

xBlessings

Tally

3 thoughts on “5 weeks

Leave a Reply

